Qiyas and Imam Abu Hanifa

‘Abdullah ibn Mubarak relates that when Imam Abu Hanifa went for Hajj he met Muhammad ibn ‘Ali in Medina. Muhammad ibn ‘Ali said to him, “Are you the one who gives preference to Qiyas over ahadith of my Grandfather?” The Imam replied, “I seek Allah’s protection from this, sit down.” He sat down and the Imam sat infront of him with respect and said, “I would like to ask you three questions. Who is the weaker, man or woman?” “Woman” He replied. “How much does a man inherit and how much does a woman?” “The woman’s share is half that of a man,” he replied. The Imam said, “If I gave preference to qiyas then I would have said the opposite (i.e. the woman should inherit more.) The second question, “Is Salah more superior or fasting?” He replied, “to observe Salah.” Imam Abu Hanifa said, “If I gave preference to qiyas over hadith then I would say Haiza (woman in menstruation) should make qadha of her Salah (read the prayers she missed) and not her fasts.” The third question, “Is urine more impure or semen.” He replied, “Urine.” Imam Abu Hanifa said, “If I gave qiyas preference I would have said that it is not incumbent to have a bath after discharge of semen and it is incumbent to have a bath after discharge of urine. I seek Allah’s protection from going against the hadith. All I do is loiter about. Muhammad ibn ‘Ali was so impressed by the Imam’s love for the Sunnah that he stood up and kissed the Imam’s forehead.

(The Wisdom of Imam Abu Hanifa, Maulana Ahmad ‘Ali)

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiqh, Hadith, Islam, Religion, Seeking knowledge

Leave a Reply

